Home Made Pierogies with Roasted Red Cabbage

026

 

I just had to share these pictures.  There is no original recipe to post (recipe for pierogies can be found at The Sugar Hit), but I couldn’t resist sharing my achievement.  Not only did I make pierogies from scratch for the first time, but I also used my pasta machine that I got for Christmas for the pierogi dough!

 

015

 

If you do not know, pierogies are traditional Polish dumplings most similar, in my experience, to ravioli.  They can be stuffed with anything from blueberries, to meats, to my favorite, potatoes and cheese.  While I was in Krakow this summer, I ate pierogies every day!  This was mostly because they were delicious, but also because there wasn’t a great deal of non-meat dishes on the menu.

 

017

 

Oddly enough, after saying that pierogies are a great non-meat meal alternative, I want to inform you about the wonderful sausage I bought to have with these dumplings.  Walking in to the co-op today, my plan was to buy some Tofurky bratwursts.  I looked at them.  They were almost $5 a package, and I really didn’t need a whole package of Tofurky dogs.  Amazingly, the butcher’s counter had house-made, organic chicken bratwursts.  For one large bratwurst, I pair $2.  Score!  The sausage was tasty, mild, and juicy.  I guess I’m teaching myself to eat more meat :-\

021

 

Lastly, the roasted red cabbage was amazing!  This morning, a giant red cabbage was in my produce delivery box, and I knew immediately its fate.  I prepare my roasted cabbage very simply.  I slice then entire cabbage into 1/2″ thick rounds, arrange them on a baking dish, drizzle with olive oil, season with salt and pepper, and roast in a 350 degree oven for about 20-30 minutes.  Delicious!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Home Made Pierogies with Roasted Red Cabbage

  1. YOU MADE PIEROGIES! And they look amazing! Thank you for sharing my recipe. 🙂

    • Mels says:

      Thank you so much FOR the recipe! I loved it and it was surprisingly easy. Pierogies will become a staple in my culinary arsenal now 🙂

  2. gcraggs says:

    I should have stayed for dinner. That beats my PBJ.

Leave a Reply

