Crustless Broccoli and Sharp Cheddar Quiche

014

I have not posted in forever!  Work and other commitments have picked up for the season, and plus, the meals I’ve been cooking have been pretty boring (think simply grilling a tofu dog and slapping it in a bun).  But, I finally had a Wednesday evening off, so I decided to cook!

Quiche has always been a go-to meal for me.  It is simple, it is tasty, and full of protein!  Just like a lot of other recipes I post, another bonus is that you can mix up the ingredients to create something new every time.  One of my favorites is kale and goat cheese (try it sometime, trust me), but my CSA last week brought me some lovely broccoli!  So I went traditional with broccoli and cheddar.

005

The eggs. Ohh the eggs are amazing. I’m lucky to have a co-worker who sells these lovely, home-grown (is that a correct term for eggs?) beauties for $2 a dozen.

The cheddar cheese I bought (on sale at the Co-Op) is delicious.  It has that tang that only a sharp cheddar can have.  Truthfully, I went into the store looking for a smoked cheese – cheddar or Gouda – because I’ve always found that those cheeses add such a nice savory taste to a vegetarian quiche that you miss when you don’t include bacon or ham.

I will admit.  My loving relationship with quiches began in high school when I baked one up for open house night to get points in french class.  I used an Emril Lagasse recipe.  It did NOT have bacon in it (which is very surprising to me now), but it did have three different cheeses – smoked Gouda, white cheddar, and jack – and a lot of them.  Frankly, I don’t remember what vegetables or other ingredients went into the dish.  I just remember cheese.  Lots of cheese. Add some heavy cream to the egg mixture and you had the most delicious tasting quiche you have ever tried.

007

Ambrosia potatoes and carrots ready for roasting!

Needless to say, I do not make that quiche anymore.  I don’t even know where the recipe is.  Now, I scale back on the amount of cheese, the fat content in the liquid, make it crust-less, and I make sure I have plenty of veggies.  I upped the veggie and color content and added a side of roasted ambrosia potatoes and carrots, both from my CSA.  I hope you enjoy the result:

Crustless Broccoli and Sharp Cheddar Quiche

4 cups broccoli florets

4 oz. sharp cheddar cheese, shredded

6 eggs

1 cup milk

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp onion powder

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees and coat a pie pan with cooking spray.

Steam the broccoli florets until just tender. Chop the al dente broccoli into smaller pieces, then spread them in the bottom of the pie pan.  Top with the shredded cheddar.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs and milk. Season with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder and stir til combined. (You can saute about 1/2 a cup of onion with 2 cloves of garlic and add to the broccoli instead of using powdered if you like).

Pour the egg mixture over the broccoli and cheese and evenly distribute.

Bake for about 30 minutes, or until all of the egg is cooked and set.

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

