Foodie Penpals – January

016

This month I participated in Foodie Penpals, a fun monthly event that connects people from across the country and encourages them to share their favorite food products and home made treats.  My foodie penpal in January was Jennifer of the blog A Hungry Runner.  The treats I received from Jennifer were amazing!

Ginny investigated and knocks over the chia seeds...ohh cat.

Ginny investigates and knocks over the chia seeds…ohh cat.

Jennifer sent me:

RAW Gojiberry Granola Bars

Chia Seeds

Southern Style Quinoa Mix

Himalayan Pink Salt

Wow!  I’m in love with my package of goodies!  The RAW bars are all gone, as I’m pretty sure I ate them within a week.  I’ve been using the salt in everything that I cook, too.  Jennifer was right in her note that it adds a depth of flavor that other salts just can’t achieve.  I have not used the chia seeds yet, but I can’t wait to!  I plan on using them in smoothies when I get my hands on some great berries, and I might try out some nice oat muffin and bake the chia seeds in (keep your eyes out for a post!)

Does anyone have any great ideas for using chia seeds?

Now, I was absolutely in love with the quinoa mix.  I don’t think I can get that brand in CA, but I was highly impressed by the flavor and the fact that it wasn’t over seasoned as many mixes can be.  I’ve already looked on line to find out how I can order more!  This box was paired with some simple sauteed shrimp and steamed green beans…delicious!

Yes, that is Himalayan Pink Salt on the green beans ;)

Yes, that is Himalayan Pink Salt on the green beans 😉

I highly recommend, if you are a foodie or have a food blog, that you sign up for this wonderful exchange!  Just click on the link to Food Penpals and sign up before February 5th to be included in next month’s round.

This entry was posted in Foodie Penpal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Foodie Penpals – January

  1. Jennifer says:

    Hooray! I’m so glad you loved your goodies! 🙂 I’m really stoked that you love the salt! And that quinoa? The only place I can find that here, of all places, is the TJ Maxx. We do have a Trader Joe’s and a Fresh Market nearby (about 30-45 minutes) but I haven’t been out there yet to see if they carry it. I love that quinoa, too. My fam is not too big on quinoa – they think it’s weird – but they’ve really liked those. Yes, I force it on them. What can I say? I’m in charge of dinner and what I cook goes. 😉

    I really, really wanted to send you some pecans as we have a pecan tree but we don’t have any good ones left. So, *note to self*, I owe you some fresh Virginia pecans!

Leave a Reply

