Purple Potato and Apple Latkes

009

First off, I hope I don’t get hate comments about my nontraditional approach to a traditional food.  I have never made latkes before in my life, and I wanted to have fun with them!  Plus, these were the ingredients I had on hand.  Truthfully, the apple played wonderfully with the onion, and I figured if you traditionally serve latkes with apple sauce, why not put apples directly in the potato pancake!

004

I also played around with some sage that I had on hand.  It’s not an essential to the dish, but the oils from frying the sage with add flavor to your latkes, and you can serve the finished product with your crispy sage!

I hope you enjoy this recipe, because it tasted delicious!

007

 

Purple Potato and Apple Latkes

1 lb. baby purple potatoes, scrubbed and shredded

1/4 of an onion, shredded

1/2 of a granny smith apple, shredded

2 eggs

2 tbsp. flour

salt

pepper

sage leaves (optional)

oil for frying

 

Once your main ingredients are shredded (I used my mandolin), place them on a few layers of paper towels or cheese cloth.  Wring out as much moisture as possible.  In a bowl, combine the shredded potatoes, onion, and apple with the eggs (already beaten), flour, and salt and pepper to taste.

Heat your oil in a large skillet, preferably cast iron.  You need about a 1/4 inch of oil in the bottom on the pan.  Once the oil is hot, drop in a few sage leaves and let them  crisp up.  Remove the leaves carefully (they will be very brittle) and place them on a paper towel to drain off any excess oil.  Save to use as a garnish.

Form patties out of the potato mixture and be sure to make them 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick (I made mine too thick, so I would say aim for more like 1/4 inch).  Carefully place the patties in the oil.  Check to make sure the bottoms are brown and then flip the patties over.  Drain on a paper towel before serving.

 

 

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

