Sweet Pea and Goat Cheese Risotto

008

Risotto is one of my favorite foods; it’s warm, hearty, and comforting.  I don’t make it as often as I should, but after reminding myself how much I like it, I think I’ll be making it more often.  This recipe was developed originally with asparagus in mind.  However, after I steamed my chopped asparagus (which I bought at Costco a few days ago), I was reminded why you should not buy vegetables out of season.  It was bitter and unpleasant.  So I turned to my freezer instead, and I found some organic frozen sweet peas!

014

Peas, fresh or frozen, are wonderful in risotto.  They offer a little bite of sweetness in a sometimes rich rice dish.  I really like adding them to my summer risotto, but the beauty of frozen food is that you can have it on hand and almost the peak of freshness!  To contrast the sweet peas, I use shallots and goat cheese.  It balanced out really well.

Sweet Pea and Goat Cheese Risotto

2 tbsp. butter

2 tbsp. finely minced shallots

3/4 c. arborio rice (or other short grained rice)

1 c. dry white wine

3 c. vegetable broth

1 1/2 c. frozen peas

1/2 c. goat cheese

Untitled

Melt the butter in a large saucepan over medium heat.  Add the chopped shallots and saute until just translucent.  Pour in the rice and let it toast until the edges of all the rice is softened slightly.  Add the wine, stirring constantly until the wine has reduced.

Slowly add the broth, one ladle at a time.  Stir and allow the rice to soften an the broth to absorb.  When the broth has absorbed, add another, repeating the process until all the broth is gone or the rice is tender and does not absorb any more broth.

Stir in the frozen peas and goat cheese.  Taste and adjust seasoning with salt and pepper.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

