Sweet Potato, Kale, and Goat Cheese Calzone

121

I am always looking for new, quick things to make for dinner.  High on my lists are also recipes that save well for later meals.  Since I make pizza fairly often, I thought I’d try my hand at something different – calzones.  Just like pizza, they are versatile and can be very, very quick.  I made this recipe last week, and I have already consumed all of the leftovers.  They reheated well and were delicious!

Calzones, just like pizza (not to be repetitive with my comparisons, but you know…), can be tailored to what you have on hand.  You can stuff them full of healthy veggies or indulge your need for meat and melty cheese.  I went for a half-and-half approach.  Try out different combinations to find your favorite.

To make this a super quick meal, I opted for purchasing pre-made pizza dough at my local co-op.  It came frozen, and I simply left it on the counter top in a greased bowl, covered, while I was at work.  The dough was defrosted and risen when I got home.  You can make your own pizza dough (see my post on Pizza Basics) if you like.

122

 

Sweet Potato, Kale, and Goat Cheese Calzone

1 tbsp. olive oil

1 medium onion, diced

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 large sweet potato, diced to 1/2″

4 cups kale, roughly chopped

1 lb. pizza dough, defrosted and risen (or one recipe)

4 oz. goat cheese

1 egg, beaten

Heat the olive oil in the large skillet.  When hot, add the onions and sweat until tender and translucent.  Stir in the garlic and cook for one more minute.  Add the diced sweet potato and cook until tender.  I found that putting a lid on the skillet helped this process.  Make sure to stir frequently.  Add the kale, stirring until wilted.  Remove from heat.

Separate your pizza dough into four balls.  Roll each out into a circle, about 7-8 inches in diameter.  On one side of each circle, add a quarter of the sweet potato and kale mixture.  Add 1 oz. of goat cheese to the top of the filling.  Gently stretch and fold the dough over, making a half-circle.  Pinch the edges closed until the calzone is sealed all the way around.

Place the calzones gently onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Brush the top of each calzone with the beaten egg.  Bake in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes.  Pull the calzones out and add one more coat of egg.  Bake for another two minutes until the dough is brown and sounds hollow when you tap on it.

Serve your hot calzones with a dipping sauce of your choice.  I went with the classic marinara!

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

