Pappardelle, Zucchini, and Avocado Goat Cheese Sauce

008

My food came from three different sources today: my local co-op, my produce delivery, and Costco.  A word on Costco – they can be a great resource!  I am on something a tight budget, though I tend to spend freely when it comes to my food costs (shows my priorities, right?).  When I go in to Costco, I tend to walk out with very little.  Maybe some frozen fish fillets and a new book.  However, my last trip surprised me.  They are starting to carry more organic products, though mostly packed.  I bought a three 32-oz jars of  Classico marinara sauce for $6, and I also got 4 lbs. of organic quinoa for $10.  I also indulge in some treats while I’m there.

I try to buy as many products as I can in organic form.  But sometimes a deal is too good to pass up.  At the same trip to Costco, I a two-pack of goat cheese (totaling 22 oz.) for about $6.  Goat cheese is not something that I regularly pick up at the store, and although it was not organically sourced, I had to give in.

006

It was that goat cheese, a package of hard amber durum wheat pasta from the co-op, and zucchini and avocados from my produce delivery that helped to make this meal.  This pasta is delightfully quick as well as satisfying.  The durum pasta that I bought has a whopping 8 g. of fiber and 8 g. of protein per serving!  You can choose to add different vegetables based on your taste and/or what you have around the house.  I’m enjoying the dwindling end of the summer squash season!

004

 

Pappardelle, Zucchini, and Avocado Goat Cheese Sauce

(makes 4 servings)

8 oz. pappardelle pasta

2 zucchini, halved and sliced (like half-moons)

2 cloves garlic

1/4 c. fresh basil leaves

2 tsp. olive oil

1 tbsp. lemon juice

2 small avocados

4 oz. goat cheese

salt and pepper to taste

 

In a food processor, combine the garlic, basil, olive oil, and lemon juice until combined.  Add the flesh of the avocados, the goat cheese, salt and pepper.  Blend until creamy.

Boil a large pot of water, and once rolling, add the pasta.  Cook for 6 minutes, then add the slice zucchini to the water.  Boil for 2 minutes more. Reserve 1/4 c. of the pasta liquid, then drain.  Return the pasta, zucchini, and the reserved liquid to the pot.  Add the avocado and goat cheese sauce, stirring gently until the pappardelle is coated.

Serve garnished as you wish!  Lemon zest or a chiffonade of basil is a nice touch.

 

 

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

